Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Driving While Under the Influence

You have 10 days from the date you were pulled over
to request a DMV hearing.

If you were pulled over for drunk driving in California, you probably have many concerns including, whether your license will likely be suspended, or, what types of criminal penalties you will face if you are convicted of a DUI (Driving while Under the Influence) /DWI (Driving While Intoxicated). Both criminal and civil penalties for drunk driving can be harsh and often include:

  • Loss or suspension of license
  • Large fees/fines
  • Substance-abuse treatment
  • Jail or prison time
  • Community service
  • Restitution
  • Criminal record
  • Restrictive probationary license programs, including ignition interlock devices and Cinderella licenses

In addition, the social stigma and effect on your career may have lifelong negative consequences.

Attorney Keith Morris has been on both sides of the courtroom, and he knows how to aggressively protect individuals against DUI and DWI charges. He has knowledgeable experience in the criminal justice system and will prepare to fight for your rights.

Protecting Your Driver's License

Many clients come to us worried about losing their driver's license. For most of us, driving is a necessary part of life. We drive to work. We drive our kids to school. We drive to the grocery store. For many people, not a day goes by without driving somewhere.

If you were pulled over for DUI/DWI, your driver's license is in jeopardy. Fighting DUI/DWI charges is very time-sensitive. You have 10 days to request a DMV hearing after receiving your citation or your license will be permanently suspended for up to 1 year. Don't wait. Contact us online or call 707-465-6000 to speak with us about your DUI/DWI charge. We offer same day appointments to meet our clients' unique needs.

If you come to us quickly enough, we can request a DMV hearing and fight the license suspension. Even if the criminal charges against you are dropped, you would still lose your driver's license if you do not request this hearing. You have 10 days from the date you were pulled over to request a DMV hearing.

Fighting For Your Rights

As a criminal defense lawyer working regularly in the Del Norte County Superior Court of California, we always work to minimize the consequences our clients are facing. We will explain the entire defense process and develop an aggressive strategy to fight the charges against you. Whether you were charged with a drunk driving offense, another misdemeanor or a felony, we will protect your rights.

If you are facing criminal charges in Del Norte County call 707-465-6000 or complete our online contact form to schedule your consultation today. We will listen to your concerns and take the time to explain how the law applies to your situation. Most importantly, we will fight hard for your rights.

Our Approach: Honest Answers, Zealous Advocacy

Our first priority is to address your concerns.  Many clients come to us worried about their futures.  We will take the time to sit down with you and answer all of your questions, making sure you receive the personal attention you deserve.

Whether you need help with a divorce, child custody and visitation, a case where CPS has become involved, or criminal charges in Del Norte County, we can help.

Call Us Today!

(707) 465-6000

  • Criminal Charges
  • DUI/DWI Charges
  • CPS Involvement
  • Divorce Matters
  • Child Custody/Visitation Matters
  • Domestic Violence


A Former Prosecutor on your side


Attorney Keith Morris is a former prosecutor who can help address your criminal charges

Learn More


Our location:
341 H Street
Crescent City CA  95531